help! Crackhead stole my catalytic converter - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
help! Crackhead stole my catalytic converter
Monday, September 14, 2015 11:16 AM
Crackhead stole my catalytic converter. I'm pretty screwed here. I've never been victimized this bad before. How do I recover from this? One cut was made about an inch in front of the post-cat oxygen sensor. The pipe opening is pretty rusty and old so I don't even know if I can weld to it. I've never welded but I'm not going to pay a shop to fix this when I could buy a welder and learn to use it for the same $$$.

I'm a bit of a newb but what exhaust parts are in between the manifold and the front of the cat? Does the manifold go all the way to the front cat flange? or is there a part in between?

2002 cavalier 4 door, automatic with 2200 SFI motor, custom carputer installed.

Re: help! Crackhead stole my catalytic converter
Monday, September 14, 2015 5:19 PM
Please help me out here. I figure my options here are to get a new cat and bolt it to the post-cat flange and then overlap weld it to the pipe coming off the manifold?, or I can get a hose from that manifold pipe long enough the reach the window.
Attachments
11052474_10154141038349338_5853589014073038182_n.jpg (60k)

Tuesday, September 15, 2015 4:55 PM
Just go to an exhaust show and have them out a cat on. Everything is there, they just need to weld the cat in and maybe a piece of pipe.

On the inside my car looks like a fighter jet.
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 9:41 AM
The more I look at the parts and the alldata instructions it seems to me the pre-cat flange is not missing it's just way up at the base of the manifold. Wouldn't it be cheapest for me to just buy a replacement cat with that long pipe and do the wrenching myself? Or like you say I can let a shop weld on a generic cat but wondering which will be cheapest.

Wednesday, September 16, 2015 10:18 PM