LLT/LFX swap - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
LLT/LFX swap
Monday, February 17, 2014 3:15 PM
I haven't had internet for a couple of years now so I'm trying to remember the research I DID do on this prior to the introduction on the LFX. It's a 60 degree block designed by Holden so I know it should mate up to an Eco tranny and if I remember right for a manual it was best to mate to a 9.3 OR 9.5 Saab 6 speed, I don't remember now. I planned on just doing another 3800 sc swap but I ran across a Fiero site that someone was attempting this swap but later backed out after buying the block and tranny. I know the wiring is probably a nightmare to most but as an electrician I can read wiring diagrams but knowing what I can make work with what systems will be a trial and error. I'm also aware of stand alone units so maybe thats an options as well. Looking for info, input,... I know there are a ton of much, MUCH cheaper options out there but I'm picky and anal about my toys and want to try something different. This will not be a quick swap by any means but I already have a 96 coupe shell that I bought dirt cheap with front end damage. Looking to get the new inner front clip this spring and want to go from there. Some concerns I do have is height clearance of the DOHC block. I'll continue my research on the V6, Grand Am, Fiero,... forums but I have an idea and want to see us do it. $ is $ and you make it to spend it, cant take it with you so concerns of cash do not need to be brought up. Thanks in advance to all.

People can't learn common sense. You're born with it. Either you have it or you just don't!

Re: LLT/LFX swap
Monday, February 17, 2014 4:17 PM