10.5:1 pistons pump gas - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
10.5:1 pistons pump gas
Monday, June 22, 2015 3:49 PM
Hi, im new to the page as far as posting forums. I have read numerous posts in the past while building and working on my cavalier and i appreciate all the knowlege you guys post.
To start off i have a 98 2.2 ohv. It spun a rod bearing on me so i pulled it out and rebuilt it. I put new oem 9:1 pistons, crank, oil pump, etc. You know all the usual sh#t you replace when rebuilding. After buying all that i realised my cam bearing were shot after 195,xxx miles which ruined my stock cam. So i replaced it with a stage 2 camshaft bought from chevycavalierworld.com. and 6500 rpm behive springs. When i get it all back together it wasnt putting out as notible gains as i had thought. So i done some researching and it says it really doesnt produce much more hp gains unless you use 10:1 - 10.5:1 pistons. i drove the car 3000 miles and my rear main seal started leaking so i have to pull the engine reguardless. So i was wondering. Being a daily would itrun alright on pump gas without pre det. Or pinging if i change it to 10.5:1?

Re: 10.5:1 pistons pump gas
Monday, June 22, 2015 4:29 PM
Stock ecotecs are 10.0:1 so I don't see why not and I believe gm runs up to 12.5:1 in production ecotecs. If you didn't get your car tuned for the cams you are only hurting performance.

On the inside my car looks like a fighter jet.
Monday, June 22, 2015 7:12 PM