New guy needs some help with 3rd gen - Third Generation Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
New guy needs some help with 3rd gen
Monday, October 25, 2010 6:56 PM
ok guys so i am kinda new to cavaliers but not new to cars in general i am in school for automotive and work for a BMW dealership as a tech. ok so a few months ago i traded a old beat up civic for my current car a 1998 Z24 cavalier with the 2.4L. the car has about 164xxx miles on the original motor and the body of the car is kinda beat up, but i got to say out of all the 4 cylinder cars i have owned this is my favorite by far.

here is a pic of the car as it sits right now
http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh212/ChevyCaprice9C1/0625001849.jpg
http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh212/ChevyCaprice9C1/59832_1444495113918_1279348698_31116504_5679652_n.jpg
as you can see the car has seen better days it news two quarter panels, a side shirt and painted and recently the car has been running on its last legs i fear. i am pretty sure that the head gasket is starting to seep and i am throwing dag codes for something new everything i fix one

so here is where i need help i was looking on craigslist the other day and found this
http://cincinnati.craigslist.org/cto/1958476050.html
i am thinking about buying this car (because its in much better shape body wise) and replacing the headgasket on the car. i have heard that the 2.4L is a pain is the ass to do a head gasket on its this true?
i have done a few headgaskets on 3800's, 305's, 350s and a few inline 6 cylinder BMW motors and i have a good set of hand tools in my home garage right now.

so do you guys think this car is worth buying and fixing up or should i just keep driving my current cavalier till it drops?
also what headgaskets to you guys recommend? i have always used felpro gaskets also i have pushed the idea around of maybe boosting the motor after its fixed