red 99 z24 noob what should i do - Third Generation Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
red 99 z24 noob what should i do
Wednesday, October 27, 2010 10:14 PM
so i have had my cav since my senior year in high school i graduated '09 its stock no work done yet but i plan to start soon just dont know where ima start.....any ideas.....99 z24 auto

Re: red 99 z24 noob what should i do
Thursday, October 28, 2010 4:34 PM
Save the money for college.

Anyways, on another note I'd start on suspension, rear swaybar and a strut tower bar front and rear can make a big difference.
Front strut bar is easy to nab from a convertible cavalier/sunfire at the junkyard.
Motor mounts to increase the throttle response.
Thursday, October 28, 2010 4:55 PM
Richard K wrote:Motor mounts to increase the throttle response.

Motor mounts will have no affect on your throttle response. They will however offer better torque transfer.

But I agree, Save the money for college. If you already have that set or just don't go, then I would start off on handling. Springs, struts, anti-roll bars, strut tower bars, poly bushings, wheels or tires. There are a hundred things you could start on. Just figure out what you want out of it.

Welcome to the .org

Thursday, October 28, 2010 8:59 PM
im considering starting with wheels and tires and maybe some springs
Friday, October 29, 2010 5:46 AM
if you do springs, you MUST make sure you have appropriate struts. OEM (and OEM spec) struts DO NOT SURVIVE BEING LOWERED.

Ride quality and handling will suffer.

Also, beware of generic cheapie springs, stick with known brands. Searching here on the .org will point you in good directions.

Eibach is good
Koni makes good dampers and a decent spring/strut package

there are others too. I had Konis. They are $$$ but they are hard to beat.

-------------------------------------------------
Sleeper style, they don't see it coming that way.
Friday, October 29, 2010 6:14 AM