HELP! Rear Speaker Harness! - Audio & Electronics Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
HELP! Rear Speaker Harness!
Friday, May 13, 2011 12:55 PM
I want to install the crutchfield harness included in my kit today and my harness has 4 wires and the plug is different. Anyone ever run into this? What did you do? Any idea what are the positive and negative on each side? If I cut into the harness what is that going to do to the other wires? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Re: HELP! Rear Speaker Harness!
Friday, May 13, 2011 3:04 PM
Okay, first of all, let me start off with... I'm no audio expert.
But, I ran into the same problem. You didn't mention what year your car is, so I'll tell you what worked for me.
I was just upgrading my speakers and keeping the factory head-unit. If that's what you're doing, this may be a solution.

My car has the "Premium" sound system... i.e. A small factory amp powering the rear speakers. Yours sounds the same.
The rear OEM speakers are actually component speakers, there's no built-in cross-over like after-market 2 way, or 3 way, etc. speakers have. They are wired to the rear mounted amp.
The easiest solution is to get 6x9 component speakers and wire the woofers and tweeters to the factory wiring.

Here's the list of positive and negative wires, according to a schematic I have...

"Right tweeter"
Positive - Dark Blue
Negative - Light Blue
"Right woofer"
Positive - Dark Green
Negative - Light Blue/Black
"Left tweeter"
Positive - Brown
Negative - Yellow
"Left woofer"
Positive - Dark Blue/White
Negative - Light Green/Black

Check your wiring to see if it corresponds to this and it should work without a problem.

Good luck with it.
Friday, May 13, 2011 3:21 PM
Duuuh... I didn't say what my car is either.

It's an '03 Cavalier, LS Sport

Friday, May 13, 2011 4:24 PM
Binzer, exactly the info I was looking for. Thanks so much. What brand of speakers did you use?