Some ground, amp and hu questions - Audio & Electronics Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Some ground, amp and hu questions
Saturday, March 03, 2012 11:20 PM
I'm revamping my system and doing it all rather then pay for simple things to be done. I never did the big 3 yet so that's first. I'm adding a 4 channel amp to my already existing system.

For this of you that run a mono and 4 channel, is ur ground the same for both amps? Or different? Which is recommended? If I remove the dash and whatnot that gives me access to the deck and it should just slide out? Correct? From there I just add my rem, 4 ch rcas and run speaker wire from the amp to each speaker in the deck? If that makes sense. I've never amped my speakers, so doing it is all new to me and I would love the help.

FREE-DOM

Re: Some ground, amp and hu questions
Sunday, March 04, 2012 5:25 AM
That's right! Do-it-yourself-ers! I'm new to car audio myself but I'll try to answer your questions. The guys here will correct me if I steer you wrong I'm sure.

I recently (as in last month) amped my inside speakers (rear only for now) for the first time ever so the info is fresh in my head.

From lots of online searching, I've found differing opinions on whether to give the amps the same ground or not. It makes sense to me that the sub and internal amps are grounded at separate spots seeing how they are getting two separate inputs sound-wise.

For radio access in my Sunfire, all I have to do is open the glovebox and remove the two screws holding the plastic cover piece on then wiggle it out to get access to the HU. The RCAs are ran from the HU to the amp and it is advisable to run them on the other side of the car from the amp's power wire to avoid electrical interference resulting in unwanted engine noise. From experience, I had them on the same side and was fighting noise until I moved them.

Good luck!

vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv
My Car Website