The Ultimate M62 Guide - Page 2 - Boost Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Re: The Ultimate M62 Guide
Tuesday, October 04, 2011 4:34 AM
x2^

Tuesday, October 04, 2011 7:41 AM
x10000000000000
Saturday, October 15, 2011 7:58 PM
Hey, i am a college student with about 3 grand to spend, but have an income of about $200 a week and i would like to know where would be best to start. I have a 2005 sunfire auto trans. Should i start with ordering the kit or do exhaust and internals work first? Also, how do our auto transmissions hold up to this? Thanks for any help! I am not ignorant to your responses like half of the other new people on this site that think they know everything and argue against reason.
Much appreciated,
Dustin
Sunday, October 16, 2011 5:03 PM
Dustin, it depends on how far you want to go.
TBH, a new kit from GMPP would be a waste of money, considering you can build a quality one for a fraction of the cost if you shop and dont be an impulse buyer for the first cheap s/c kit you see (try to keep it low mileage).
You wont need to worry about internal upgrades if you keep it simple and follow the steps that Evil put in here (emphasizing cooling).
These guys can fill in way better than I can, but I would say header/full exhaust is about the only prep you can do as your intake and other components will be covered with the pieced together kit. Unlike a turbo, you can build exhaust now, and not have to replace parts of it when you actually add boost. I would also look into cheap upgrades that make a WORLD of difference, like both strut tower bars, rear sway bar, bushing kits, motor mounts, tranny mounts, etc. A good suspension and stability setup will help ANYTHING you do to your car and youll get the maximum benefit out of the motor putting the power through the drivetrain. Plus, most of these upgrades can be done in your dorm parking lot in less than 20-60minutes depending on your mechanic skills.