Tires have an EXPIRATION date - Interesting Investigation by 20/20 - Wheel and Tire Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Tires have an EXPIRATION date - Interesting Investigation by 20/20
Friday, June 12, 2015 9:20 AM
Hey Guys,

Tires have a SHELF LIFE. I'm a pharmaceutical Chemist - the drugs that you take have expiration dates, that is because the active ingredient decays over time and most companies don't do stability data for more than 5 years. Apparently, the rubber itself decays over time. Tires that sit on the shelf for more than 6 years are causing lots of issues when they are finally sold. Watch the 10 minute video and give me your feedback!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDgSk5xWkrI

"FRIENDS DON'T LET FRIENDS DRIVE STOCK"

Re: Tires have an EXPIRATION date - Interesting Investigation by 20/20
Friday, June 12, 2015 11:21 AM
Yea. The rubber drys out, cracks, and hardens. This isn't new information. I have to replaced the tires on my DD because they are dry rotted and one wont hold air.

Friday, June 12, 2015 11:57 AM
Ya, that's happened to all of us (trust me I know - my tires are never without tire shine - silicon based products dry the hell out of the tires in time). The fact that you buy a new tire that has been on the shelf for 6 years, and you've had it 2 months and this happens. That's what is interesting to me. An unused tire still goes bad!

Wednesday, June 17, 2015 9:28 PM