Shifter Console Lights - Interior Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Shifter Console Lights
Sunday, April 18, 2010 12:50 PM
I am new to Chevy Cavs. I have an 05 ls sport Auto trans and was wondering if the PRND321next to the shifter illuminated when the headlights were on. Mine are not and it seems a little weird that they didn't. Is this how they are or could there be something wrong?

Thanks
Brian

Vic Red 05 LS Sport

Re: Shifter Console Lights
Sunday, April 18, 2010 3:30 PM
Yes. They are supposed to illuminate when the headlights are on. Take apart the center console and replace the bulb underneath the shift indicator bezel. or you can go LEDs =D

http://www.j-body.org/forums/read.php?f=45&i=104690&t=104565

—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-—-

Sunday, April 18, 2010 4:23 PM
Your led setup looks really nice! I like that and may bite that from you. Is the center console easy to take apart and what kind of led did you get?

Vic Red 05 LS Sport

Sunday, April 18, 2010 8:19 PM
Brian V wrote:Your led setup looks really nice! I like that and may bite that from you. Is the center console easy to take apart and what kind of led did you get?

Thanks bud! Yes the center console is very easy to take out...

total of 4 bolts (cant remember the size. Think I used 10mm socket with an extension)

2 underneath the lid at the very bottom
1 underneath that little tray section that pulls out
1 underneath the oval shaped cover in the tray under you radio and HVAC controller

after you remove these nuts make sure you push the e-brake boot onto the shaft of the e-brake. (I pulled the e-brake, was easier for me to lift the console over). Then remove your shift knob. there is a little clip holding it in on the front of it. Use a flat head to pry it out.

unplug the power outlet on the passenger side from the inside of the console as you are lifting it out.