LED's...one more time.. - Interior Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
LED's...one more time..
Monday, April 11, 2005 9:32 AM
Well..just ordered some LED's..now just a few questions remain..

there's that...but..where would that toggle come into place...and if i only use 4 LED's what and how many resistors?

-Ozzie

Re: LED's...one more time..
Monday, April 11, 2005 10:02 AM
u cant do electricity that way...if u have 12 volts feed, its going to be 12volts at each one, not 3v to each...you need to get a resistor to do the job that you think 4 leds on 12volts is gonna do.. and put the switch in somewhere in between the power supply and the first bulb..

Monday, April 11, 2005 10:08 AM
the picture shows that there will be resistors, but i needed to know which ones...i figured just like the diagram
12V / 4 LED = 3V going thru each LED
*keep in mind this is my first time *lol* and have no experience w/electricity...thanks in advance..

-Ozzie

Monday, April 11, 2005 10:22 AM
the way they are now will split the voltage evenly through the leds so 3 v each depending on the resistor u put in there.

If you wanted each to get 12v, you would need to hook a resistor to one end of the LED, and have one side going to power and the other to ground, not in series where its + to - + to - like shown.

The switch will actually be placed on the left hand side if u look at the circuit. What you need on the 3 pins of the switch, 1 is power from your battery, 1 is ground, which u can connect to ground and the - wire going to leds. The final is your power wire, which will go to the leds so when u flip the switch it lets the battery power go into the leds.

Monday, April 11, 2005 1:47 PM
Dennis wrote:u cant do electricity that way...if u have 12 volts feed, its going to be 12volts at each one, not 3v to each...

wrong

- Interior FAQ -
J-Body of Michigan -
Monday, April 11, 2005 1:50 PM
you will need at least a 470 ohm resistor