First time J-body owner, many questions - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
First time J-body owner, many questions
Saturday, February 09, 2013 7:08 PM
Hello Everybody!

Yes, I am new to the world of J-bodies, actually we owned a 94 Sunbird for a few years before it was rear-ended and wrote off, liked that car a lot actually. Anyways off topic already.
1994 Cavalier, 2.2 5speed, 288k?

I apologize now, I'm a Mopar guy... But my 21 year old Dynasty has seen too many harsh winters and is telling me its time to move on, and my 25 year old Daytona is home in NS in a garage. So in the meantime, I now own this 1994 Cavalier. Here's what I can tell you about it. Started life as a light blue, base model Cavalier Coupe. Currently it's decked out in Z24 garb, rims and painted white. Sunbird doors for power windows and locks and a full cluster added... Mechanically (I shake my head). This 2.2 has LS lifters (maybe?), performance header, cold air intake, stage 2 clutch, Magnaflow muffler, adjustable front struts and a strut brace. Granted it runs well and is quite strong so I won't complain.

Now here are my questions if somebody would be so kind as to help me out.
The Radio, how is it actually held in place? It was dark tonight and I was able to simply pluck it out of its cubby hole and I can't figure out how It's supposed to be firmly placed in there
HVAC. My controls work, I can hear the vents changing, but the blower only comes on when it is switched to the defrost position.
Rear Defrost. I figure I'm just going to have to do some looking because God only knows what this poor car has been subjected to in the past 19 years. At any rate the light comes on but nobody is out back working.