J-body newbie here...sort of. - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
J-body newbie here...sort of.
Monday, August 26, 2013 7:45 PM
Hi!
I recently picked up a 2000 Cavalier LS sedan for my kids to drive. I've been a car guy for many years and always leaned toward Dodge/Plymouth vehicles, including 4 Neons ('95, '97, '01, '03), but found this Cavi w/ only 45k miles for a great price at a local dealer.
So, it's my first J-body car, although my wife and I owned a '77 Skyhawk (H-body) back in 1988 and she owned a '76 Skyhawk prior to that.
I'm just starting to learn about some of the quirks of the Cavi: rear defroster not working, OEM stereo upgrade challenges, dash cracked...and I'm hoping to be able to wrench on the car without it being too much of a hassle and looking forward to getting some good advice from the resident J-body experts.

Re: J-body newbie here...sort of.
Monday, August 26, 2013 8:09 PM
Rear defrost is almost always a melted green plug down behind the carpet on the drivers side.

The oem stereo can be upgraded very easily with a geo tracker harness. You lose your chimes but is much cheaper and easier. Check the audio forum for details.

The dash....well they crack. Find a wrecker with a good one and swap them out. Or a easier way is a cover made by coverlay.
http://coverlaymfg.com/lookup.html?PartTypeTree=Dash+Board+Cover
Monday, August 26, 2013 11:46 PM
My radio harness was $35 with a chime box from amazon.

On the inside my car looks like a fighter jet.
Tuesday, August 27, 2013 1:27 AM
Philly D wrote:Rear defrost is almost always a melted green plug down behind the carpet on the drivers side.

The oem stereo can be upgraded very easily with a geo tracker harness. You lose your chimes but is much cheaper and easier. Check the audio forum for details.

The dash....well they crack. Find a wrecker with a good one and swap them out. Or a easier way is a cover made by coverlay.