Newbie Questions - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Newbie Questions
Saturday, December 28, 2013 10:37 AM
Hey,

Im a fellow newbie in Orlando Fl with a 3rd Gen sunfire coupe (99). I just had some basic questions im hoping some of my fellow J bodies could share with me.

1) Besides the Trans am back seats what other back seats might fit?

2) I want to replace the engine and swap out the tranny for a manual. Would it be better to buy it used or have the one I have rebuilt?

3) Lol has anyone attempted to put 15" subs in the trunk

4) Don't want my car to sound ricey or anything yet wich muffler would be good, im looking to change it to a cat back system.

Thanks! Ill put some before and after photos, I plan on buying a simple body kit and plasti dipping the entire car white.

Re: Newbie Questions
Sunday, December 29, 2013 6:37 PM
2. Which engine do you have? depends on how much you want to spend and your goals.
3. I built a box for a friends 98 cavalier many years ago, we have to assemble the box in the trunk. I later bought the box off him and installed it in my Cobalt SS. it was for 2 15s. it can be done, but the air apace required for them, means you need a really big box.
4. Do you want a muffler or cat back system? most guys like the Dynomax turbo flow.

2000 Cavalier Z24 5spd - Intake, Dynomax muffler, Hawk Pads, Powerslot rotors, Sportlines/Koni reds, Neon Coil, MSD 8.5 Wires - **SOLD**
2014 Kia Forte Koup SX 6spd - 1.6L Turbo - My new car
2015 Kia Sorento EX V6 AWD - Wifes Car

Re: Newbie Questions
Tuesday, December 31, 2013 12:14 PM
Welcome to JBO.

1. Lots of seats will fit, nothing direct drop in, but there are limitless options with a little creativity. I've seen 04-06 GTO seats (which are a tight fit), Cobalt SS, SRT4, and so on. I was working on fitting Lexus IS300 seats into my cav, and the rears were just going to require a little trimming and fabbing some mounting points into the car.