I'm Also New - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
I'm Also New
Friday, July 29, 2016 5:33 PM
I'm new to the car enthusiast world.

I've gone from diva to grease monkey, once obsessing over Prada shoes to now obsessing about my Ecotec engine and training myself to fix it on my own. This is a new, unexplored territory - one that is mostly male dominated.

A few years ago, I bought my '05 Cavalier off a man in Redlands, CA. I later found out he had purchased it in poor condition from a woman in nearby Loma Linda, who severely neglected it the last few years of its life. He had it tuned up so that it ran well for the first week or two I had it. That is, until @!#$ hit the fan. Since running into so many issues that could have been prevented with simple routine maintenance, fixing cars has piqued my interest. After doing much research, the Cavalier seems to be the best car to start learning!

I am no expert. But, after spending thousands of dollars to get the car back into working order, I've decided that enough is enough. Why continue to pay some mechanic when I am perfectly capable of fixing this car myself?

So I started networking. I connected with anyone and everyone I could, learning from them and observing their experiences as a J-Body owner. The more I learned, the more intrigued I became. The more intrigued I became, the more obsessed I was.

Okay, so I may not be able to replace a gasket on my own just yet. I'm still a novice. But, I know my Cav well enough to know what could go wrong in the future, given what has gone wrong in the past.

So far, I have had the following replaced:

Timing chain

Water pump

Fuel pump

Fuel pressure regulator