Auto Ecotec Oil Return - Boost Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Auto Ecotec Oil Return
Saturday, January 17, 2009 1:54 PM
I have been ignoring the turbo build for a few months now and need to get back to it. I still need to run the oil feed, oil return, and finish up the down pipe and have everything coated. My question is this.

My turbo already has a nice oil return line on it that will reach the gurdle location on the Eco. I am iffy about drilling and taping into the gurdle though .

has anyone used the pan and gone around the tranny with any luck? Damn auto's.

Re: Auto Ecotec Oil Return
Saturday, January 17, 2009 7:54 PM
if you were not an auto i could help cant wait to see it working. get a move on. i know i tapped in and used a port on the head for feed. it worked fine for me because i got my turbo feed off of it, as well as the spot for my electronic oil pressure gauge sender unit. good luck, cant wait to see it.

Saturday, January 17, 2009 8:42 PM
Yea I have the fittings and line to tap the side of the head so thats good. Just worried about doing the return line.

Saturday, January 17, 2009 9:11 PM
Honestly, I would tap the girdle. Drop the pan and drill it out. The girdle has a concave where the turbo return would go.

Saturday, January 17, 2009 9:20 PM
Yea but how big of a tap could I run there? Looks like 3/8 NPT is the max.

Saturday, January 17, 2009 10:17 PM
I"ve never seen this. Could someone post a picture of the girdle?
Saturday, January 17, 2009 10:51 PM
The second half of the Ecotec block.

Sunday, January 18, 2009 2:06 PM
Tap the girdle for sure, from what i've seen of your car you don't like to cut corners so why start now. Plus routing a return line to the pan with a 4T40E is a pain in the ass.

- 93 mph in the 1/8 mile
Member of J-Body Of Michigan.

Sunday, January 18, 2009 4:52 PM